

## **PRINCIPALS**



PRESIDENT
Judge Ekaterina Trendafilova (Bulgaria)

The President of the Kosovo Specialist Chambers (KSC) is responsible for the judicial administration of the KSC and other functions conferred upon her by the Law. The President represents the Judges' Chambers. One of the central duties of the President is to assign judges from the Roster of International Judges to Panels and cases that come before the Specialist Chambers. She is the Presiding Judge on any Supreme Court Panel upon which she sits.

Judge Ekaterina Trendafilova was appointed President on 14 December 2016 and reappointed for a term of four years effective 15 December 2020. She first took office on 12 January 2017. A former Judge of the International Criminal Court (2006-2015), President Trendafilova is a distinguished judge, lawyer and academic with extensive experience in international criminal law, criminal law, criminal procedural law and human rights law.



REGISTRAR Dr Fidelma Donlon (Ireland)

The Registrar is responsible for the administration of the KSC and SPO and is also in charge of judicial support services. The Registrar is responsible for functions necessary for the KSC proceedings: defence, victims' participation, detention and witness protection and support, and is also in charge other support units: legal, court management, language services, public information and communication and administration. Furthermore, the Registrar manages the direct grant agreement from the EU which provides for the budget of the KSC and Specialist Prosecutor's Office (SPO).

Dr Fidelma Donlon was appointed Registrar in April 2016 and was reappointed for a term of four years in April 2020. A highly experienced senior court administrator and a respected academic and lawyer, Dr Donlon held positions at the Special Court for Sierra Leone, War Crimes Court of Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Office of the High Representative in BiH. She also managed the strategic and organisational establishment of the KSC since 2015.

## **JUDGES**

The Judges were appointed to the Roster upon recommendation of an independent Selection Panel of International Judges on 7 February 2017 by the Appointing Authority. Six new Judges were appointed on 22 September 2020. There are currently 23 Judges on the Roster. The Judges shall be present at the Specialist Chambers only as necessary at the request of the President of the Specialist Chambers for particular assignments.

The Chambers shall be composed of the following Panels, being attached to and mirroring each level of the court system in Kosovo: individual judges performing the

functions of a Pre-Trial Judge; Trial Panels composed of three judges (and one reserve Judge); Court of Appeals Panels composed of three judges; Supreme Court Panels composed of three judges; Constitutional Court Panels composed of three judges; and other individual judges as necessary to perform the functions of the Specialist Chambers.

Pursuant to the Law establishing the KSC, Judges are independent in the performance of their functions and shall not accept or seek instructions from any government or any other source.

## JUDGES ON THE ROSTER OF INTERNATIONAL JUDGES



Judge Ekaterina Trendafilova President (Bulgaria)



Judge Charles L. Smith III Vice-President (United States of America)



Judge Vidar Stensland Constitutional Judge (Norway)



Judge Antonio Balsamo Constitutional Judge (Italy)



Judge Roumen Nenkov Constitutional Judge (Bulgaria)



Judge Romina Incutti Reserve Constitutional Judge (Italy)



Judge Christine van den Wyngaert (Belgium)



Judge Michèle Picard (France)



Judge Thomas Laker (Germany)



Judge Emilio Gatti (Italy)



Judge Roland Dekkers (Netherlands)



Judge Michael Bohlander (Germany)



Judge Kai Ambos (Germany)



Judge Kenneth Roberts



Judge Mappie Veldt-Foglia (Netherlands)



Judge Christoph Barthe (Germany)



Judge Vladimir Mikula (Czech Republic)



Judge Guénaël Mettraux (Switzerland)



Judge Nicolas Guillou (France)



Judge Gilbert Bitti (France)



Judge Daniel Fransen (Belgium)



Judge Fergal Gaynor (Ireland)



Judge Nina Jørgensen (Norway)