

PRINCIPALS

PRESIDENT

Judge Ekaterina Trendafilova (Bulgaria)

The President of the Kosovo Specialist Chambers (KSC) is responsible for the judicial administration of the KSC and other functions conferred upon her by the Law. The President represents the Judges' Chambers. One of the central duties of the President is to assign judges from the Roster of International Judges to Panels and cases that come before the Specialist Chambers. She is the Presiding Judge on any Supreme Court Panel upon which she sits.

Judge Ekaterina Trendafilova was appointed President on 14 December 2016 and took office on 12 January 2017. A former Judge of the International Criminal Court (2006-2015), President Trendafilova is a distinguished judge, lawyer and academic with extensive experience in international criminal law, criminal law, criminal procedural law and human rights law.

REGISTRAR

Dr Fidelma Donlon (Ireland)

The Registrar is the highest administrative authority within the court and is also in charge of judicial support services. The Registrar is responsible for functions necessary for the KSC proceedings: defence, victims participation, detention and Ombudsperson, and is also in charge of other support units: legal, court management, language services, public information and communication and administration. Furthermore, the Registrar manages the direct grant agreement from the EU which provides for the budget of the KSC and Specialist Prosecutor's Office (SPO).

Dr Fidelma Donlon has been Registrar since April 2016. A highly experienced senior court administrator and a respected academic and lawyer, Dr Donlon held positions at the Special Court for Sierra Leone, War Crimes Court of Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Office of the High Representative in BiH. She also managed the strategic and organisational establishment of the KSC since 2015.

JUDGES



For more information and biographies of all Judges of the Kosovo Specialist Chambers, please visit www.scp-ks.org

Judges were appointed upon recommendation of an independent Selection Panel to the Roster of International Judges on 7 February 2017 by the Head of the EU Common Security and Defence Policy Mission in Kosovo (EULEX). The Judges shall be present at the Specialist Chambers only as necessary at the request of the President of the Specialist Chambers for particular assignments.

The Chambers shall be composed of the following Panels, being attached to and mirroring each level of the court system in Kosovo: individual judges performing the functions of a Pre-Trial Judge; Trial Panels composed of three judges (and one reserve Judge); Court of Appeals Panels composed of three judges; Supreme Court Panels composed of three judges; Constitutional Court Panels composed of three judges; and other individual judges as necessary to perform the functions of the Specialist Chambers.

Pursuant to the Law establishing the KSC, Judges are independent in the performance of their functions and shall not accept or seek instructions from any government or any other source.

JUDGES OF THE SPECIALIST CHAMBER OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL COURT

Pursuant to the Law on the KSC, Judges of the Specialist Chamber of the Constitutional Court shall deal exclusively with any constitutional referrals relating to the Specialist Chambers and Specialist Prosecutor's Office.



Judge Vidar Stensland (Norway)



Judge Roland Dekkers (Netherlands)



Judge Ann Power-Forde (Ireland)



Judge Antonio Balsamo **Reserve Judge** (Italy)

INTERNATIONAL JUDGES OF THE KOSOVO SPECIALIST CHAMBERS

Judges shall be assigned to Panels and cases by the President



Judge Keith Raynor Vice-President (United Kingdom)



Judge Emilio Gatti (Italv)



Judge Christoph Barthe (Germany)



Judge Charles L. Smith, III (United States of America)



Judge Michael Bohlander (Germany)



Judge Vladimir Mikula (Czech Republic)



Judge Christine van den Wyngaert (Belgium)



Judge Kai Ambos (Germany)



Judge Guénaël Mettraux (Switzerland)



Judge Michèle Picard (France)



Judge Kenneth Roberts Judge Mappie Veldt-Foglia (Canada) (Netherlands)



Judge Nicolas Guillou (France)



Judge Thomas Laker

(Germany)



(Estonia)



Judge Andres Parmas